Find Christchurch NZ

Fitzgerald Statue

From 1852−1876 NZ was divided into six (later to become ten) self governing provinces with a central government. Statues of three of the four Canterbury Provincial Council Superintendents, Fitzgerald, Moorhouse and Rolleston are located along Rolleston Avenue.

The commemorative bronze statue of J.E. Fitzgerald, the first superintendent of the Province of Canterbury (1853−57), was donated by Christchurch citizen Richard Green. The sculptor Francis Shurrock was a leading interwar NZ sculptor.

Rolleston Avenue, Central City

Last updated: 08.01.2017